Hoellein Named Associate Dean for Student Affairs

The University of Kentucky College of Medicine recently named Andrew Hoellein, MD, MS, Associate Dean for Student Affairs in a recent announcement. Dr. Hoellein will work with Dr. Brian Adkins, the Assistant Dean for Student Affairs, and the Student Affairs staff to help ensure student success in the medical curriculum, promoting their individual and professional growth. While earning his medical degree from MCP-Hahnemann University, Andrew was inducted into the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Society. He completed a residency in Internal Medicine at the University of Kentucky, followed by an academic medicine fellowship in which he attained a Master of Science degree in Education. After completion of his training, Andrew joined the UK faculty and helped lead medical student education in the Department of Internal Medicine, serving as co-clerkship director and clerkship director of internal medicine for the past 14 years. During this time, he received numerous accolades, including the 5-star Abraham Flexner Teaching Award, the Gold Humanism in Medicine Award, and numerous clinical teaching awards, including the Clinical Golden Apple on four occasions as the graduating senior students’ favorite clinical teacher. In addition, he has been a key advisor to students applying for internal medicine residencies. He was elected councilor to the Clerkship Directors in Internal Medicine (CDIM) in 2013 and will serve as President of CDIM in the 2016-2017 academic year. He has also been on many committees for the National Board of Medical Examiners, including the Ambulatory Medicine Test Development Committee for Step 2 and the Step 2 Interdisciplinary Review Committee. Dr. Hoellein is also an accomplished scholar, having received the 2013 CDIM Charles H. Griffith III Educational Research Award (named after our own Dr. Griffith). With his many years of educational leadership, Andrew has already proven himself a tremendous asset to students. We look forward to him taking on this important new leadership role for the UK College of Medicine!